News Release



No. 201613

Four of RTRI's Researchers win the UIC Global Research & Innovation Awards 2016

In 2012, UIC started to provide the Global Research and Innovation Awards to outstanding rail engineers and researchers. UIC's International Rail Research Board (IRRB) took initiative in creating these awards in order to develop and enhance railway transportation at the global level and make it more attractive, cost effective and sustainable. The review committee for these awards consists of IRRB members and the awards are given to researchers and engineers for their innovative work in six main categories of "Safety and Security," "Sustainable Development," "Rail system," "Passenger Service," "Rail Freight Service," and "Cost Reduction." In addition, the Award for the Best Young Researcher and Award for Lifetime Achievement in Research & Innovation are given to a researcher of the age under 30 and to a person who has contributed to railway services for many years.

This year's award ceremony took place on December 1 at Vitebsk Station in Saint Petersburg of Russia and four of RTRI's researchers were given the awards.

Award Ceremony

Date and time:December 1, 201620:00Venue:Vitebsk station in St. Petersburg, Russia

Award winners from RTRI

o Safety & Security Award

"Development of the Earthquake Disaster Simulator for Railways against Mega Earthquakes"

Jun Izawa

Senior Researcher, Soil Dynamics and Earthquake Engineering, Center for Railway Earthquake Engineering Research

• Sustainable Development Award

"The Development of a Fuel Cell Train"

Takamitsu Yamamoto

Director, Vehicle Control Technology Division

Passenger Service Award
 "Development of Vertical Vibration Control System for Improving the Ride Comfort of

Railway Vehicles"
Yoshiki Sugahara
Chief Researcher, Running Gear, Vehicle Structure Technology Division
Cost Reduction Award
"Development and Practical Application of the Ladder Track Systems"
Tsutomu Watanabe
Assistant Senior Researcher, Structural Mechanics, Railway Dynamics Division



Award ceremony(copyright: RZD)

Mr. Izawa (left end), Mr. Yamamoto (second from the left), Mr. Nishie, proxy for Mr. sugahara (third from the left), Mr. Watanabe (7th from the left)