RTRI’s Researchers win the UIC Global Research & Innovation Awards 2018

December 14, 2018 Railway Technical Research Institute

Three of RTRI’s researchers won the UIC Global Research & Innovation Awards 2018.

In 2012, UIC started to provide these awards to outstanding rail engineers and researchers. UIC’s International Rail Research Board (IRRB) took initiative in creating these awards in order to develop and enhance railway transportation at the global level and make it more attractive, cost effective and sustainable. The review committee for the awards consists of IRRB members and the awards are given to researchers and engineers for their innovative work in six main categories of “Safety and Security” “Sustainable Development” “Rail systems technology” “Rail Freight Service” “Passenger Service” and “Cost Reduction.” In addition, the Award for the Best Young Researcher and Award for Lifetime Achievement in Research & Innovation are given to a researcher of age under 30 and to a person who has contributed to railway services for many years.

This year’s award ceremony took place on December 7 at the UIC Headquarters in Paris and the following three researchers of RTRI attended the ceremony and were given the awards.

Award Ceremony

Date and time:December 7, 2018 16:00
Venue:UIC Headquarters in Paris

Award winners from RTRI
Safety & Security Award
“Development of Algorithms for Earthquake Early Warning System Using Ocean Bottom Seismic Network”
Masahiro Korenaga
Assistant Senior Researcher, Seismic Data Analysis
Center for Railway Earthquake Engineering Research
Sustainable Development Award
“Prediction for Long-term Behaviour of Railway PC Girders affected by Creep and Shrinkage of Concrete”
Ken Watanabe
Senior Researcher, Concrete Structures, Structures Technology Division
Cost Reduction Award
“Development of Contactless OCL Geometry Measurement System”
Itaru Matsumura
Assistant Senior Researcher
Current Collection Maintenance, Power Supply Technology Division

By courtesy of P. Fraysseix at UIC
Award ceremony
Mr. Matsumura (right end), Mr. Watanabe ( fourth from the right ), Mr. Korenaga (fifth from the right)